Susan Lucek

Team Name: Nerac Earth

DOB: Sept 19

Hometown: Manchester

Residence: Tolland

Height: 5-6

Weight: varies

Strengths: varies

Hobbies: seasonal

Race Class: fast old ladies (fast & old being relative)

When did you start racing? 80s

Why did you start racing? 6 knee surgeries = no more ski racing/running/soccer/tennis/triathlons/etc

What do your mates call you? Anything but susie

Name your favorite ride, to date: hmm so many I just cant — top 10: Pikes Peak Ascent, Monarch Ridge Trail, Ironhorse Classic-Durango to Silverton, King of the Rockies Winter Park CO, Morgul Bismarck, Vail Pass, Wolf Creek Pass, anything near or above treeline! Nowadays I just like to ride – every day if possible, anywhere.

Who has influenced you the most in cycling? MTB: Patrick O’Grady and the mad dog team, Road: Lennard and the Zinn ladies

Where do you like to ride? up

What and when was your first win? I didn’t win too many races. The one I am most proud of is the Pike’s Peak Ascent – Race to the Summit (14000+ft elevation) 2 yrs in a row

What’s your #1 strength as a cyclist? Perseverance… and #2 is that I don’t mind hurting a little

How about skills off the bike? Raising a special kid – the hardest and most rewarding thing I’ve ever done and I make a mean blueberry pie

What gets you pumped up before a race? …I try to clear my head and relax

Fondest memory in a race? Seeing/& hearing my daughter ringing the cowbells for me at the Channel 3 MTB race – my first race in 12 years

What types of comedians do you relate to? Mostly the ones I work with

What has been your finest moment in racing? 7th at 1995 MTB World Championships, Kirzcharten Germany, (3rd for USA) women 35+ cross country race

What has been your finest moment on two legs? after watching my newborn daughter struggle and beat the odds to survive, going through the grief/anger/acceptance process of coming to terms with the fact that she would have a lifelong disability, then watching her ride up the chairlift (to the top of the mt) on her own version of skis (a bi-ski which is basically a chair mounted on two skis with someone- my husband – steering) and seeing her flying down the slope yelling “faster faster”… Made me realize that anything is possible.

When you’re not on your bike, what do you like to do? Spend time with my daughter husband at home, cook, eat, grow things, raise animals, be outside

Your perfect day? Every single one

Advertisements